The Museum is open daily during the Festival 10am-4pm. Come see the John Fowler Steam Engines in action!Saturday 23 April, 10am – 4pmSunday 24 April, 10am – 4pmMonday 25 April, 12pm – 5pm
The Edison two core street tubes were installed in 1884 in Brisbane, extending from the first Government power station (at the Government Printery in William Street) to the rear of Parliament House in Alice Street. It took another 2 years of protracted installation work until 1886 when the first electricity supply to the Queensland Parliament…
The Tamworth Powerstation Museum Collection contains approximately 9,500 objects of historical, cultural, and social significance. The Museum’s displays chronicle the use of electricity in Australia and showcases innovations in electrical science and design from around the world. The diverse collection ranges from important artefacts and machinery spanning Australia’s industrialisation, as well as common household appliances from the twentieth century.
For detailed information on a number of significant and representative objects search the Online Catalogue.